Dr. Jennifer Taylor and Holland College are among the 2019 Farmers Helping Farmers Award Winners

The awards recognize the organization’s volunteers, supporters and members.  Sandra MacKinnon, Awards Committee member says that the success of any organization is dependent upon the commitment of its volunteers and others. 

“We are extremely fortunate to have individuals and groups working in partnership, and raising funds to assist with the challenges faced by many East African farm women and their families," MacKinnon said.

The 2019 award recipients are:  

The Honourary Life Membership Award was presented to Dr. Jennifer Taylor. She was recognized for her commitment, over the past ten years, in overseeing UPEI nutrition students while they interned in Kenya.  She ensured that her students were successful with their special studies, dietetic internship or honors research work while in the country. 

Dr. Taylor has ensured that Kenyan graduate students studying at UPEI have a positive educational growth experience. She is been a strong promoter of Farmers Helping Farmers.

Holland College was presented with a Friend of Farmers Helping Farmers Award which recognizes individuals, businesses and organizations who are not members of Farmers Helping Farmers, but who have made a lasting and extending contribution to the association.  Holland College was recognized for its supportive efforts in providing an opportunity for two early childhood Kenyan educators to gain training and experience in the Early Childhood Care and Education curriculum. The College hosted Purity Ciomati and Virginia Gacheri M’kurra as observers in the 2018 fall semester. 

Nine Farmers Helping Farmers members were recognized with the Volunteer of the Year award -  Rosemary Herbert, Winston Johnston, Judy Loo, Wendy MacDonald, Ken Mellish, Teresa Mellish, John van Leeuwen, Colleen Walton and Catherine Williams.  This small group of members made a huge contribution of time and expertise this year. These individuals were involved with the preparation of a proposal submitted to Global Affairs Canada entitled “More Food, Better Food: Empowering Kenyan Women Farmers.” This initiative, which was successfully funded, will allow Farmers Helping Farmers to expand its work in Kenya during 2019 to 2023.

Thanks to Makena Ambassa for an amazing feast, as always!

Congratulations to Wendy MacDonald, the incoming president of Farmers Helping Farmers, replacing Colleen Walton. Asante, Colleen, for your work.


Congratulations to past recipients:

Volunteer of the Year Award recognizes member(s) who have made an outstanding contribution to the organizations and its project/activities during the past year.

2019: Rosemary Herbert, Winston Johnston, Judy Loo, Wendy MacDonald, Ken Mellish, Teresa Mellish, John van Leeuwen, Colleen Walton and Catherine Williams.  2018:  Maxine Delaney
2017:  Ellen Cudmore, and Carolyn Francis, Wendy MacDonald and Liz Townsend
2016:  Reg MacDonald and Dr. Shauna Richards

Friend of Farmers Helping Farmers Award recognizes individuals and businesses who are not members of Farmers Helping Farmers, but who have made a lasting and extending contribution to the association. Contributions may be in the form of financial or in-kind.

2020: Jane Nitschmann, Perth ON
2019: Holland College
2018: Kate Westphal
2017:  Island Lime and Mary Robinson Manager, and The Empower Sewing Group at the Arboretum in Guelph, ON
2016:  Charlottetown Police Services
2015:  Noreen and George Shaw
2014:  Irwin and Parker Jewell - Jewell's Produce Ltd.
2013:  Rotary Club of Stratford
2012:  Souris Village Feast
2011:  Chef Emily Wells & staff at Agriculture Canada, Livestock Research Centre
2010:  Gerry McQuaid and the Hillsborough Rotary Club
2009:  Bev and Shirlee Simpson - Vesey’s Seeds Ltd
2008:  Rotary Club of Charlottetown Royalty

Farmers Helping Farmers Youth Award recognizes individuals (25 years and younger) and youth groups (classrooms, 4-H, AY, Girl Guides, Boy Scouts, etc.) who have made outstanding contributions to public awareness about Farmers Helping Farmers and its work in Kenya. The successful nominee will be recognized for their extraordinary spirit that makes their contribution an inspiration to others, and exemplifies citizenship and volunteerism.

2018:  Katie Carter Doiron and Lydia MacDougall
2017:  Souris Regional High Twinning Program
2016:  Hillcrest United Church Sunday School, Montague
2015:  Youth of Margate Pastoral Charge
2014:  West Kent Kenya Kousins Group
2013:  Ellen Moore
2012:  The Challenge Girls Leadership Club
2011:  Award Recipient: Caitlin McCarthy
2010:  UPEI Nursing Students (2009 and 2010)
2009:  Stonepark Farmers Helping Farmers Club
2008:  Stuart MacLean, Lot 16

Honourary Life Membership recognizes members who have made an outstanding and substantial contribution to the organization and its purpose. They have inspired and encouraged others to be engaged, and have served as an example within the organization.

2020: Dr. Rosemary Herbert, Charlottetown; Reg MacDonald, Blooming Point; Gerry McQuaid, Miscouche
2019: Dr. Jennifer Taylor
2018:  Nancy Russell and Jennifer Murogucho
  The Souris Village Feast Organizing Committee (Alan MacPhee, Pat O’Connor, Jack Jans, Loretta Campbell, Ilse Peters-Ching, Jolyne Sharkey, David Jenkins, Louise MacDonald, Sheila Eastman, Doris Jenkins and Chef Michael Smith)
2016:  Carolyn Francis
2015:  Dr. John Vanleeuwen
2014:  Dr. Linnell Edwards, Charlottetown
2013:  Dr. Winston Johnston
2012:  Dykerman Family
2011:  Harry Baglole
2010:  Priscilla Myers
2009:  Patsy Dingwell and Shaad Olingo
2008:  Barry Cudmore, Ellen Cudmore, Guy Cudmore, Roy Dickieson, Teresa Mellish, Katie VanEkris, and Olive Weeks

(Founding members of the organization who have remained active in the organization for the past 28 years.)